Who says we can’t celebrate?

I wasn’t always that great in celebrating my small successes.  I felt like I had to wait for the big ones before I earned that right or I simply didn’t take the time to think about it.

I think many of us feel this way, like we are conditioned to only celebrate when huge things happen.  Buying that house, landing that job, winning that competition.  What about when we’ve completed some DIY on our existing home, or when we continue to keep going for interviews despite not landing the right job, or when we enter a competition and come last but still manage to surpass our expectations around what we thought we could do?

Any achievement no matter how small, deserves some recognition.  Not from other people.  From you.

We rush from one thing to another

We are a nation committed to bettering ourselves and progressing.  That next job, the next project, that next holiday – we always think about what’s next, rather than take a moment to enjoy what’s happening now.  Oprah once said that the more you celebrate your life, the more there is in your life to celebrate.

More often than not success is defined by how much we achieve and what material things we have accumulated.  It leads us to rush from one achievement to another and pausing for a moment to celebrate the little things, can be perceived as being selfish or ridiculous ‘what reason do you have to celebrate?  Just wait and really celebrate when you have…’  We don’t wait to fulfil our aspirations but somehow there is an expectation to wait to celebrate our success?

hamster wheel

Celebrating your success takes time and dedication

Remember to take the time to recognise your achievements takes more effort than you would first think.  It takes a level of mindfulness (paying attention to the present) to allow you to remember how far you have come.

If you are living a busy life with lots of things going you will be hard pressed at first thought to think of something you should celebrate right now.

As you’re reading this can you think of something to celebrate?  How long did it take you to think of something?

We all need a reminder

What can you do to remind yourself that you are making progress?  What can do you to celebrate your milestone?

The following are the ways I celebrate my successes.  As strange as it sounds, I use these moments to create happy memories in themselves as well acknowledging that my dedication and tenacity is helping me move in the right direction.

  • Share it with my closest friends or family
  • Do something I love to do but have struggled to make the time for
  • Take a day off work and do whatever I feel like doing
  • Go out for dinner – or equally stay home and enjoy my favourite take away of choice
  • Invest in those trainers I’ve always wanted (any excuse I know)
  • Thank the people who have supported me in my achievements
  • Write about it
  • Take a day off from working on my goals (one day won’t hurt me)
  • Look at myself in the mirror, smile and say well done
  • Play my favourite 3 songs and dance like no one’s watching

We have a lot to be proud of and no matter how small and you don’t need to wait to achieve the big milestones to celebrate – the small ones are just as important.

Don’t be afraid to give your best to what seemingly are small jobs.
Every time you conquer one it makes you that much stronger.
If you do the little jobs well, the big ones tend to take care of themselves
Dale Carnegie

Leave a Reply

